Bico do Papagaio

Situated at the northernmost end of the state, the region called Bico do Papagaio is a transition area between the fauna and flora of Cerrado and the Amazon. Its name can be literally translated as ‘Parrot’s beak’, a reference to its geographical shape. The region belonged to the State of Goiás and was considered isolated for a longtime, which served as a pretext for the State of Tocantins political emancipation.

With the creation of Tocantins in 1989, many municipalities were dismembered giving rise to several others. The region where the municipalities of Axixá do Tocantins, Buriti do Tocantins, Esperantina and São Miguel do Tocantins are located is now known as the pioneer block of Bico do Papagaio. The region has a rich popular culture with traditional festivities, and very strong people. In addition, it played a very important role in the history of the state.

Bico do Papagaio is located between the Araguaia river to the west and Tocantins river to the east; bordering the States of Pará and Maranhão, respectively. Its territory consists of 25 municipalities: Aguiarnópolis, Ananás, Angico, Araguatins, Augustinopolis, Axixá do Tocantins, Buriti do Tocantins, Cachoeirinha, Carrasco Bonito, Darcinópolis, Esperantina, Itaguatins, Luzinópolis, Maurilandia do Tocantins, Nazaré, Palmeiras do Tocantins, Praia Norte, Riachinho, Sampaio, Santa Terezinha do Tocantins, São Bento do Tocantins, São Miguel do Tocantins, São Sebastião do Tocantins, Sítio Novo do Tocantins and Tocantinópolis.